I Did It My Way

I did it my way. It’s more than just an awesome song by Frank Sinatra.

It’s a statement. It’s a bold declaration that says: “I want to live life my way”. But what does that mean, living life “my” way? Is that even possible in today’s society?


quotesMaker_eggrfcaaea524937

From the dawn of mankind, we aspired to be a part of a group, a tribe.
A place where we could belong, feel connected.
And by all means, it’s not all bad. It’s actually quite good to be a part of a group, it lends you a strategic advantage, makes you feel whole, etc.

Problem is – it also constricts your moves, your thoughts, and ultimately – your destiny. As a part of a group, you need to “play by the rules”, so you can’t exactly be 100% “you”. Even when you think you’re acting uniquely, you’re most likely imitating your group with only a few “touches” of your true self.

So.. it begs the question – first of all – is it even possible to be unique?
But most of all – Is it actually a good thing?
Because, being truly unique usually separates you from your core group, you cease to “belong” to a group, making yourself some sort of an outcast.

However, the need to belong conflicts with the need to express our unique selves.

Personally, I like to belong to a group, but not at any cost.
I believe we can balance our unique expression of the “self” while still belonging to a group.

But how is that possible? isn’t it contradictory to the definition of a group?
No, it isn’t.

Meet – open minded groups. The only common denominator is that every member of the group acts in his/her unique way. A group of men and women who act in congruence with their true self, with their unique perception of the world.

A group without limitations, without rules, without boundaries.

I believe we can create such a group of open minded individuals, looking to express their true nature, and receive objective feedback from it’s peers.

We can each create such a group in our own circle of influence, ultimately creating an alternative belonging pattern, which in turn will make the world a much richer, diverse place.

I did it my way, I’m doing it my way.
I believe you can too.
I believe we can do it together, without prejudice, making this world a better place.

Be your own unique self, Everything Is Possible!

Leave a Reply

