No complaining allowed

Two days ago, I found myself rather upset. Even downright angry.
I consider myself a very calm individual, I worked hard to develop this tranquil attitude, though it’s a work in progress.

However, as one thing led to another, I found myself pissed beyond recognition.
Now the funny thing is, nothing objectively changed in my life, I mean.. okay, maybe a little bit. But these events in themselves were rather insignificant. Yet the moment I started complaining – to myself to my girlfriend, to anyone in particular, I found myself getting into a vicious cycle. As I complained, I felt my mood getting worse and worse, eventually barely able to control myself – which is, again, not something so common nowadays.

And then another rather surprising thing happened, as I went outside – as a part of the errand that started this whole vicious cycle, I found myself interacting with people – Merely a “Hello” and “Have a great weekend”, and suddenly I found myself in a much better mood.
Thing is, I always considered myself to be an introvert. And suddenly I realize that I might actually be an extrovert, while all this introversion was actually a cycle I put myself in – spending time alone – mood gets worse – spending more time alone. Instead of stepping out of this vicious cycle and going out and about!

So, out of a pretty “bad” day, I’ve reached a few pretty important conclusions:

1. I’m probably an extrovert – meeting people and interacting actually makes me feel better – which is quite a surprise.

2. Get my priorities straight. If you’re a kind person, people will use you for various errands, and constantly require your attention and help. Including people who care about you, like your family. It’s not that they’re necessarily mean, it’s just human nature – if you let it, people will subconsciously use you for their advantage, more often than not – in your disadvantage.
When you get your priorities straight, you can start saying “NO”, when you’ve got other important things to do. If you don’t know what you have to do today, in order to make a difference and be productive, you’re in trouble.

3. Make it clear – if it’s not a matter of life and death (and 99.99999% of the time it isn’t) – if you don’t tell me what you need in advance, you’re going to get a “No” on your request. My time is important, I will not let other people’s mistakes turn into my mistakes.

4. No complaining. I’ve thought about it before, but that day made it very clear to me. Complaining is a slippery slope. Once you start this vicious cycle, it’s downhill from there.
Instead, adopt a more productive, positive mentality.
Okay, that happened. Now, what can I do to make my day happier and more productive?
Instead of wasting time on complaining, do something about it!

That’s it for today, hope you find this post helpful!

Leave a Reply

